Scholarship Foundation

About us:

The ABCN Scholarship Foundation provides mentoring and financial scholarships to exceptional students facing economic, family or social challenges which impact on their study or capacity to pursue their desired tertiary pathways.

Scholarship recipients participate in the Accelerate program, a three-year program spanning Years 11, 12 and the first year of tertiary education, employment or training.

Scholars are provided with:

  • their own dedicated, corporate mentor from our network of corporate partners, who assist them in setting goals and developing valuable workplace skills. 
  • $7000 amortised across the three-year program to assist with educational expenses and help alleviate financial hardship in their homes.

If you would like more information on the Scholarship Foundation please contact our Foundation Manager, Rachel Walker at

Shadab, ABCN Foundation Scholarship recipient, and his mentor Niall McConville, General Manager, Retail Distribution, TAL Life on Vimeo.


Applications for 2018 Scholarships are now closed and will reopen in June 2019.

All Year 10 students who are Australian citizens or permanent residents are eligible to apply. Students from outside the ABCN network and students who have not participated in an ABCN program are also eligible.

Each year ABCN offers a range of targeted scholarships to students who face amplified levels of disadvantage due to their ethnicity, gender, geographical location or identification as LGBTI. Categories for 2018 include Aboriginal/Torres Strait Islander, female, LGBTI and refugee/new arrival. Students selected for targeted scholarships must also meet the primary criteria for a scholarship and will not be identified without consent.

Who are we?

The only organisation of its kind in Australia to offer both mentoring from business professionals and financial assistance to students, the Scholarship Foundation has awarded 86 scholarships to exceptional students since its inception in 2013. 

The Scholarship Foundation Board includes ABCN founder, Michael Hawker AM (Chair), Allegra Spender (CEO, ABCN), Kerry Jukes, and ABCN Board and Council alumni - Guy Templeton, Paul O’Sullivan, John Weber, Matthew Quinn and Helen Zimmerman. Board members also personally support the Scholarship Foundation.

The Scholarship Foundation is generously supported by a number of ABCN’s member companies. We also seek support from philanthropic trusts, foundations, bequests and individuals.

Many of the mentors involved in ABCN’s core programs choose to make regular donations to the Scholarship Foundation through their workplace giving schemes.

The ABCN Scholarship Foundation is registered with the Australian Charities and Not-for-Profits Commission and has deductible gift recipient (DGR) status.